Home

User login

, after login or registration your account will be connected.


September 4, 2014 - 10:31am
September 1, 2014 - 9:34am
August 28, 2014 - 9:45am
August 25, 2014 - 9:44am
August 23, 2014 - 9:50am

Online Poker Black Friday

Social Media



Poker Radio

High Roller Radio
High Roller Radio
2 to 1 You'll Love It!

High Roller Radio
House of Cards
by Ashley Adams
 

Who's online

There are currently 0 users and 12 guests online.

George Epstein

Download and Read the Poker Player Digital Edition for June 2nd, 2014 (Vol. 17 Number 25)

June 2nd, 2014 Issue of Poker Player NewspaperDownload the June 2nd Digital edition PDF of Poker Player Newspaper.

Feature Story 
Poker Player Takes a Step Forward by Wendeen H. Eolis

Featured Strategy:
Mike Caro - Today's Word is BURDENS by Mike Caro

Tournament Results:
Bryan Campanello Wins $175K at Harrah’s New Orleans Main Event

Eric Blair wins Lodge Casino WSOP-C Main Event

Kyle Bowker wins Harrah’s Philadelphia Main Event

AND MUCH MORE, Download the new Issue PDF now!

Your rating: None Average: 5 (2 votes)

How do You Rule? - Readers Respond, Part 3

by George "The Engineer" Epstein

Our two previous columns [Editor's Note: Read Part 1 and Part 2] presented responses from a wide range of readers to our earlier column, “How Do You Rule?” It was about a hand where a player misstated his hand on the showdown, prompting his opponent to muck his cards. To whom should the pot be awarded?

Based on readers’ responses, in this case, both the Tournament Directors Association (TDA) rules and Robert’s Rules of Poker lack in specificity and are subject to interpretation by individuals, as well as possible personal biases.

Quoting Robert’s Rules as they apply to this situation: “A player must show all cards in the hand face-up on the table to win any part of the pot. Cards speak; players are responsible for holding onto their cards until the winner is declared... Deliberately miscalling a hand with the intent of causing another player to discard a winning hand is unethical and may result in forfeiture of the pot. If you miscall your hand and cause another player to foul his or her hand, your hand is dead. If both hands remain intact, the best hand wins. If a miscalled hand occurs in a multi-handed pot, the miscalled hand is dead, and the best remaining hand wins the pot. For your own protection, always hold your hand until you see your opponent’s cards.”

Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)

Playing Pocket Eights

by George “The Engineer” Epstein

Recently, poker writer, Roy Cooke described a hand he played in a $40-$80 limit hold’em game. Frankly, I question his decision and rationale for playing that hand, and wonder how others would play it.

He was on the button with 8-8, seated to the left of a highly aggressive opponent. A loose-passive player, two off the button, had limped in. Mr. Aggressive raised. Now it was Cooke’s turn to act, and he re-raised to force out the blinds and create a three-handed pot, where his pocket eights had a better chance of holding up without improving. Both blinds folded, and both Mr. Loose-Passive and Mr. Aggression called. Now it was a three-way pot.

Did Cooke Play it Correctly? With two opponents, the odds are that one or both have at least one hole card higher than an eight, and will pair up on the flop. According to Tom Green’s Texas Hold’em Poker Textbook, when two opponents see the flop, and one has an ace in the hole, he will catch another ace on the flop almost 25 percent of the time.

Your rating: None Average: 4 (2 votes)

How Do You Rule? - Readers Respond, Part 2

by George “The Engineer” Epstein

In Part One, we described a number of the responses to my column entitled, “How Do You Rule?” that appeared in the Feb. 10 issue of PPN. Today we will continue to present more responses, including one from the Poker Players Alliance (PPA) vice president, and two from Australia. After studying the responses, I have drawn conclusions that I will share with you in Part Three.

Reminder: We described a hand where James bet on the river; then, after Bill called, James shouted, “Full-House.” Bill promptly mucked his hand. But, when James showed his hand, all he had was A-K high. An argument erupted. Bill claimed he had the better hand. James insisted that, having gone into the discards, Bill’s hand was dead. The floorman settled the controversy by retrieving what presumably was Bill’s hand from the edge of the muck and declaring Bill the winner with a better hand. More Response Highlights

• Rich Muny, vice president of the Poker Players Alliance (PPA), likes Robert’s Rules of Poker, which he interprets: “The mucked hand should always be retrieved from the muck where clearly identifiable if the muck was caused by misinformation – intentional or unintentional. If unintentional, the best hand wins. If the miscall is found to be intentional angle shooting, the player who miscalled forfeits the pot.”

Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)

Readers Respond to "How do you Rule?", PART 1

by George “The Engineer” Epstein

My column entitled, “How Do You Rule?” in the Feb. 10 issue of PPN, had so many great responses that we awarded seven valuable prizes (copies of the Hold’em Algorithm) instead of one as planned! All raised salient issues; many offered thoughtful suggestions. Some described personal experiences. I’ll summarize their comments and quote several in this and the next column (Part II). After studying the responses and consulting with others, I have drawn conclusions that I will share with you in Part III. (You may be surprised!)

Your rating: None Average: 4 (5 votes)

How Do You Rule on this Poker Situation?

by George “The Engineer” Epstein

Hear Ye... Hear Ye... The Players’ Poker Court of Law is now in session.

 You are the Judge. I am the key witness. I have been sworn in. During a low-limit game at a local casino, James raised before the flop in middle position, and was called by several opponents. The flop was rather uninteresting:

There was no card higher than a nine, no pairs, no connectors, and it contained three different suits. A player in early position bet out. There was one limper before James raised again. One player behind him—Bill—and the two limpers called James’ raise. The turn was not very exciting either. There were no pairs on the board, but there were possible long-shot draws to a straight or flush.

Your rating: None Average: 5 (2 votes)

Playing a Big Pair in the Hole; and an Overcard Flops

George “The Engineer” Epstein

You see the flop with a big pair in the hole. You are (almost) certain that you have the best hand. Now the flop... Oops! An overcard falls. How good is your hand now? If an opponent has connected with a bigger pair, you have only two outs to improve your hand. So what is the best way to play a big pair in the hole before the flop?

A Typical Example. In a medium-limit hold’em game at a full table of nine players, you are in a middle position, and have been dealt J-J; that’s a premium drawing hand. If no overcards fall on the board, your pocket Jacks could hold up to the showdown; but, quite often, it must improve to take the pot (more so, of course, with smaller pocket pairs).

Could an opponent have been dealt a higher pair? With J-J in the hole, the odds are about 8-to-1 in your favor that none of your eight opponents has a higher pair. Most likely you hold the best hand preflop. This often is confirmed when no opponent raises preflop. (Discount a raise by a “maniac” who could raise with almost anything in the hole—even without looking at his holecards!) You figure that your pocket Jacks is the best hand so far... Preflop, you properly decide to raise, hoping to force out any players behind you who happen to hold A-rag, K-rag, or Q-rag, thereby protecting your J-J, and gaining a better chance to win the pot if an Ace, King, or Queen should be dealt out on the board. Note: If you were one of the blinds, raising likely would not force out an opponent who already had made one bet to see the flop; so, in that case, just call and avoid giving information about the strength of your hand.

Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)

I Disagree with Phil Hellmuth

by George Epstein

 Phil Hellmuth is admired by many poker players throughout the world for his accomplishments. In addition to his record 13 World Series of Poker bracelets, he won the Main Event of the 1989 World Series of Poker (WSOP) and the Main Event of the 2012 World Series of Poker Europe. He is a member of the WSOP’s Poker Hall of Fame, and is ranked among the top all-time money winners. (He has also earned a reputation for insulting other players).

 Recently, a friend gave me a copy of Hellmuth’s book, Play Poker Like the Pros. I found several items that conflict with my teachings to my Seniors Poker Groups. For example, Hellmuth relates a hand he played at Foxwood’s Casino in Connecticut. It was a $2,500 buy-in limit Hold’em game during the “World Poker Finals.” Stakes were $300-$600. He was in the Big Blind holding 8-8. Three players called the blind ($300) preflop. He wrote, “because I had 8-8, I raised.” Note: In his book, Hellmuth lists 8-8 as one of his “Top Ten” Hands. He also recommends: “Always raise with these hands, no matter what it costs you to get involved.” With this, too, I disagree.

Your rating: None Average: 4.1 (8 votes)

Dealer Error

by George “The Engineer” Epstein

Who doesn’t make a mistake now and then? Even the best major league baseball players make errors. We poker players are no different. But rarely do we hear about mistakes made by poker dealers. How about that?

 Recently, I saw the mother of all poker dealer errors in a limit hold’em game at a local casino. Should it have happened? Let’s call the dealer “Rushmore.” Without doubt, Rushmore’s knowledge of the game and dealing skills are outstanding. He keeps the game moving along. In fact, I never mind when he deftly picks up chips from my stacks and posts the blind for me. While I wonder if it is proper for a dealer to do that, but I generally regard this as a friendly action—no harm done.

 Here’s what happened... On the turn with three players in the hand, first to declare was the player in Seat No. 2. He checked. Then, Seat No. 4 clearly stated, “I bet.” While gathering his chips to make the bet, the man in Seat No. 5, acting out of turn, tossed in his last remaining chip.

Your rating: None Average: 4.7 (3 votes)

Positive Expectation on Starting-Hand Selection

by George “The Engineer” Epstein

Here’s an interesting query I received from reader Jack Durr who picks up his copy of PPN at the Turning Stone Casino in Verona, NY where he enjoys playing 1-2 NLHE $50Min-$200Max:

 “Could you tell me how many players would have to limp in before the blinds for it to be a +EV to complete the small blind with any two cards?

 The game is small stakes – $200 max NLHE; lots of limping preflop.” It’s an intriguing question—one I have never seen/heard addressed. Basically, the question deals with starting-hand selection. With Jack’s permission, here’s my answer:

Your rating: None Average: 5 (2 votes)

Syndicate

Syndicate content

Poker Player Home | About Us | Contact Us

All material ©Poker Player All Rights Reserved unless materials are under existing copyright and said materials are the property of their respective copyright holders. Poker Player expressly disclaims any warranty relating to any content of any pages or any links provided on these pages.

 

 

 

 

 

Poker Player Newsletter

Subscribe to our
FREE POKER NEWSLETTER

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

 

Wendeen H. Eolis

World Series of Poker


September 4, 2014 - 10:31am
August 28, 2014 - 9:45am
August 25, 2014 - 9:44am
August 22, 2014 - 9:45am
August 19, 2014 - 10:04am