As you all know, Stanley Sludikoff, the owner of Poker Player Newspaper, passed away March 12, 2016.

It is time to pass the newspaper on to a new owner.

If you're someone who understands Poker and the Poker Industry, Publishing and Advertising, and Money Making, then this is your opportunity to become a part of a great business venture.

For inquires and details, please contact Ann Sludikoff at

Continue to Poker Player Newspaper


October 15, 2016 - 9:40pm
October 11, 2016 - 6:47pm
October 1, 2016 - 7:42pm
September 30, 2016 - 6:32pm
September 29, 2016 - 6:56pm

User login

, after login or registration your account will be connected.

Online Poker Black Friday

March 31, 2014 - 12:57pm
March 24, 2014 - 11:20am
March 10, 2014 - 11:34am
February 24, 2014 - 12:29pm
February 21, 2014 - 7:14pm

Social Media

Poker Radio

High Roller Radio
High Roller Radio
2 to 1 You'll Love It!

High Roller Radio
House of Cards
by Ashley Adams

Who's online

There are currently 0 users and 30 guests online.

2014 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event Repeat Winner?

by Joseph Smith Sr.

Greg RaymerWill there ever be another back-to-back Main Event winner?  The last time this happened was in 1987 and 1988 when Johnny Chan took home the gold championship bracelet.  In his first win he defeated a field of 156 entrants and the following year saw the field of Main Event players swell to 167.   

Incidentally, Johnny Chan almost made it a three-peat when he finished second to an unknown, young player, Phil Hellmuth, in the 1989 Main Event.  Chan has cashed three times in the Main Event since losing to Hellmuth, in 1992, 2008 and 2010.

Many fans thought there might be another repeat winner in 2005.  2004 Main Event winner Greg Raymer was eliminated in 25th place in the 2005 WSOP Main Event after having outlasted all but 23 players in the field of 5,619 entrants.  Compared to the field Johnny Chan had to overcome to complete his back-to-back wins that would be a little more than 33 times larger.  Greg Raymer outlasted 2,575 players to win $5,712,585 and his first WSOP championship bracelet in the 2004 Main Event.

Ryan RiessRyan Riess is the current defending WSOP champion.  In the November Main Event final table he was the last man with chips and a chair from a starting field of 6,352 players.  For his efforts Riess pocketed $8,359,531 plus a gold and diamond championship bracelet.  Will he be the first back-to-back winner in 26 years?  Will the 2014 Main Event field be larger than the last few years?  Many think the recent  legalization of online in a few locations in the US will send more players to the 2014 WSOP.

The larger the field of players in the WSOP Main Event the smaller the chance of a repeat winner.  Good Luck Ryan Riess, now's your time to make World Series of Poker history.

Your rating: None Average: 4 (3 votes)


Syndicate content

Poker Player Home | About Us | Contact Us

All material ©Poker Player All Rights Reserved unless materials are under existing copyright and said materials are the property of their respective copyright holders. Poker Player expressly disclaims any warranty relating to any content of any pages or any links provided on these pages.







Yankel Ginzburg

A Serigraph of Kings (signed and numbered) by Yankel Ginzburg.

There's only five left. Buy one, or buy them all.

Email: for more information.

Poker Hoody

Poker Player Newsletter

Subscribe to our

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


World Series of Poker

November 6, 2015 - 4:03pm
July 6, 2015 - 3:32pm
September 4, 2014 - 10:31am
August 28, 2014 - 9:45am
August 25, 2014 - 9:44am