2014 WSOP Event #21 $1,000 buy-in No-Limit Hold'em

by Joseph Smith Sr.

WSOP Event #21, a scheduled 3 day No-Limit Hold'em  affair with a $1,000 buy-in, attracted 2,043 entrants, all with the singular goal of taking home the WSOP gold.  Of course, the $335,659 winner's share of the $1,838,700 prize pool also offered some motivation to be the last player with a chip stack and a chair.  The event paid the top 216 finishers a share of the cash.

Winner, Dominik Nitsche, fresh off a win in the World Series of Poker Circuit National Champinship apparently brought his good luck to Las Vegas.  During the heads-up match with second place finisher Dave D'Alesandro it seemed that Nitsche never missed a flop, or a turn or a river.  Whatever he needed he got to stay in the match.  The heads-up lasted almost one hundred hands before Nitsche made a river flush against D'Alesandro's small pair and smaller stack and it was finally over.

Dominik Nitsche had his third WSOP gold bracelet and $335,659 in cash.  Dave D'Alesandro had to settle for second place and $208,931.

The following lists the final table order of finish and money awarded each player.

  1. Dominik Nitsche ----- $335,659

  2. Dave D'Alesandro---- $208,931

  3. Bob Bounahra -------- $145,229

  4. Zachary Gruneberg – $104,594

  5. Thayer Rasmussen –  $76,443

  6. Jeff Gross ------------  $56,549

  7. Eric Milas------------- $42,382

  8. Billy Horan ----------- $32,168

  9. David Burt ------------ $24,702

Congratulations to Dominik Nitsche for winning his 3rd WSOP gold bracelet and winning WSOP event #21 to take home to Germany.

No votes yet